more>>More News

The 24 Solar Terms
By Stella on 2016-08-30

The Chinese Zodiac Animal Sign are the Chinese way of numbering the years.  The ancient Chinese divided a year into 24 equal segments according to the positions of the sun on the ecliptic. Names were given with special connotations for these segments, and hence they are called the 24 Solar Terms. Originating from the Reaches of the Yellow River, the 24 Solar Terms are basically a calendar to govern agricultural arrangements which takes into account the changes in climate and practical agricultural needs. The 24 Solar Terms are considered a great and unique creation of the ancient Chinese.


the Beginning of Spring (1st solar term)Feb.3,4, or 5 

 the Rains  (2nd solar term)Feb.18,19 or 20 
 Insects Awaken (3rd solar term)Mar.5,6, or 7 
 the Spring Equinox (4th solar term)Mar.20,21 or 22 
 the Pure Brightness Day (5th solar term)Apr.4,5 or 6 
 Grain Rain (6th solar term)Apr.19,20 or 21 
 the Beginning of Summer (7th solar term) May 5,6 or 7 
 Lesser Fullness of Grain (8th solar term) May 20,21 or 22 
 Grain in Beard (9th solar term)Jun.5,6 or 7 
 the Summer Solstice (10th solar term)Jun.21 or 22 
 Lesser Heat (11th solar term)Jul.6,7 or 8 
 Greater Heat (12th solar term)Jul.22,23 or 24 
 the Beginning of Autumn (13th solar term)Aug.7,8 or 9 
 the End of Heat (14th solar term)Aug.22,23 or 24 
 White Dew (15th solar term)Sep.7,8 or 9 
 the Autumn Equinox (16th solar term)Sep.22,23 or 24 
 Cold Dew (17th solar term)Oct.8 or 9 
 Frost’s Descent (18th solar term)Oct.23 or 24 
 the Beginning of Winter (19th solar term)Nov.7 or 8 
 Lesser Snow (20th solar term)Nov.22 or 23 
 Greater Snow (21th solar term)Dec.6,7 or 8 
 the Winter Solstice (22th solar term)Dec.21,22 or 23 
 Lesser Cold (23th solar term)Jan.5,6 or 7 
 Greater Cold (24th solar term)Jan.20 or 2

(introduction taken from the internet)

Chinese Chinese    English English    Korean Korean    Japanese Japanese    French French    Russian Russian    Vietnamese Vietnamese